Twenty-seven Students Accept Invitations to KAMS

HAYS, Kan. — Twenty-seven high school sophomores throughout the state of Kansas have accepted an invitation to join the first inaugural class of the Kansas Academy of Mathematics and Science. The pioneer class of KAMS will report this coming August.

KAMS is a premier early-entry-to-college program in Kansas. “We have excellent students who have accepted the academy invitation, and they will make a positive impact on the future of the great state of Kansas,” said Ron Keller, KAMS director.

The academy was established by the Kansas Legislature in 2006. It is a unique residential learning experience that provides exceptional high school juniors and seniors a potent blend of college-level instruction by Ph.D. faculty; a high school diploma and 68 hours of college credit; the option to receive an associate’s degree upon graduation; hands-on research supervised by Ph.D. scientists; leadership development and civic engagement opportunities; co-curricular and extra-curricular opportunities to develop the whole student; a safe campus and residential environment; and trained support staff.

Prospective KAMS students must have completed at least two years of high school with distinction in mathematics or science. KAMS also selects students based on drive, interest, maturity, stability and personal and family commitment.

Students who have accepted the invitation are listed by hometown.

ATCHISON: Kathryn Schmidt.
BASEHOR: Leo Budy.
EVEREST: Nicholas Van Swol.
FT. SCOTT: Christian Sellers.
GREAT BEND: Erica Stacey.
HAYS: Mersadez Tanner.
HOLCOMB: Carlton “Eddie” Savage.
HUTCHINSON: Kassandra Kirk.
KANSAS CITY: Audrey McGuire.
KINGMAN: William Morris.
LANSING: Alexandria Darden.
LIBERAL: William Robertson II.
MT. HOPE: Seth Gooding.
OLATHE: Isaac Cook.
OVERLAND PARK: Bailey Spickler.
PAOLA: Amanda Berckefeldt.
PRATT: Carson Launchbaugh.
ST. JOHN: Tyler Clark.
SALINA: Kaleb Beaugh.
SILVER LAKE: Jaeton Martin.
TOPEKA: Whitney Hersh.
WELLINGTON: Alexis Greb-Bonham.
WICHITA: Emilie Clare, Benjamin Davis, Amanda Herman and Mackenzie Powell.
WILSON: Bryant Davis.

For more information about the Kansas Academy of Mathematics and Science, visit or call (785) 628-4690.

Explore posts in the same categories: KAMS Information, KAMS Update

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Twenty-seven Students Accept Invitations to KAMS”

  1. susan wadlow Says:

    congrats to tyler and family! from cousin, susan (Scheib) wadlow and Jim WAdlow

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: