A Student’s Perspective on KAMS

Katie is seen here volunteering at the Humane Society of the High Plains.

Hi everyone!

My name is Katie Schmidt and I am a member of the pioneer class of the Kansas Academy of Mathematics and Science. I recently finished my first semester here at FHSU, and I’m really excited to be back in Custer, beginning a new semester.

I’m sure that many of you reading this are probably considering about attending the Academy, or if you are parents, you may want your child to attend. I honestly am extremely excited that you are considering being a part of KAMS, because I truly believe this is an incredible experience. I have been given such a wonderful opportunity, and I wouldn’t give it up for anything. There is no doubt in my mind that in 10 years, I will look back to my two years at KAMS and I know that I will be so glad I made the choice I did.

However, KAMS is not just an alternative to high school. KAMS requires dedication and hard work that most people never even know in high school. Since attending the Academy is a privilege, students are expected to treat it as such. You have to really apply yourself in order to maintain the grades that you have come to expect by default in high school. I know that personally, I had some trouble with Global Climate Change last semester. Fighting the habit of procrastination I had formed during high school was much more difficult than I would’ve expected it to be. I was forced to allot more of my time to working on the homework. Overall the class required more dedication than I had ever given to a class before in my life. By midterms, my hard work began to pay off when I aced the mid semester exam.

My work wasn’t done there though. We were asked to write a full research proposal, which I had never even attempted to write before. The process is intense – and in class we created what was a miniature version of what researchers truly go through. However the teachers were incredibly helpful if you ever got stuck and our entire class supported one another throughout the entire procedure. When it came down to it, we all made it through, and for the first time, I was truly proud of my A in a class.

I don’t mean to scare you off with that anecdote, but that is the truth. KAMS is hard work, and to be a successful student, you must be dedicated and ready to put in more effort than you ever have before. On the other hand however, I have never loved school so much in my life. KAMS is my home, and my decision to come here is, undoubtedly, the best decision I have ever made. I adore all my peers here, and I enjoy having the ability to be truly challenged in my classes. The Academy will be my favorite memory when I think of high school, and I know that I have made many friends here that will forever be a part of my life. I’m proud to be a part of the pioneer class of the Kansas Academy of Mathematics and Science, and I hope that next year, you all can be a part of this amazing experience.

-Katie Schmidt

Explore posts in the same categories: KAMS Information, KAMS Students

Leave a Reply

